The Take Over, The Break’s Over

Fall Out Boy

On the morning of February 4th I awoke to find the music world abuzz about the return of Fall Out Boy. If you knew me in high school you know my teenage life revolved around bands with too-tight jeans and tongue-twister song titles. And if you know me now, you know my music taste hasn’t evolved much since then. So needless to say, I was shaking with excitement at the prospect of a whole new album full of self-depreciating yet somehow liberating lyrics and a comeback tour. While sadly I wasn’t able to secure tickets to the tour as all dates sold out in seconds, I’m still impossibly excited about the approximately 12 new FOB songs to be released in May (what could be a better birthday gift?!).

All this FOB mania has me spiraling into nostalgia about the bands I used to be so dedicated to and the shows I used to attend. Thinking back, it was this music scene that started me on the early steps toward my interest in fashion. In high school, all my spending money went to concert tickets and band merch, which lead to me starting to develop my own style of dressing. And believe me, I use the term “style” loosely—I wore band hoodies and too much eyeliner, but suddenly I was making conscious decisions about how I was presenting myself through my clothes. After Fall Out Boy came the Cobra Starship-inspired “Neon Phase.” Then came my love for Lady Gaga, who introduced me to Alexander McQueen through her music video for “Bad Romance.” Little did that fifteen-year-old girl in the broken-heart-splattered hoodie know, she was already on her way to swooning over Stella McCartney and Givenchy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Take Over, The Break’s Over

  1. Pingback: The Take Over, The Break’s Over | therealworldcanleavemebe

Leave a Reply

